This public bath in Kingston upon Hull, England is an eye-catching turn-of-the-century building, from the inside out. Even though it is closed until 2021 for renovations, visitors can still go to the corner of Beverly and Epworth to admire this 115-year-old building from the outside.
Opened in 1905, the Baths’ central tower is topped by an octagonal cupola with smaller copper domes around the corner. Inside, there is a ceramic plaque commemorating the opening of the baths in May 1905, and a matching plaque by Edward Caldwell Spruce, a Leeds sculptor, incorporating a brass portrait relief of John Shaw, the chairman of the Baths Committee at that time.
Kingston upon Hull, usually abbreviated to “Hull”, is a city in the East Riding of Yorkshire, England. After suffering heavy damage in World War II, the city experienced a period of post-industrial decline. In the early 21st century, a spending boom saw large amounts of new retail, commercial, and public service construction.
Beverley Road is one of several major roads that run out of Hull. The hustle and bustle around this street everyday makes this Baths’ location all the more enticing to Hull residents looking for a short respite.
The Baths have fought hard to retain their classic charm amidst closures and remodels of similarly-aged buildings. The addition of gymnasiums and a toddler pools ensure the Baths remain relevant to public needs. However, the overall structure and historic character remains with many original features, including the original changing cubicles beneath the balconies, still in use today.