This French train station is located in a town renamed after the famed writer Marcel Proust's fictional name for the village.
The Old Post Office Museum has lived a long and storied life. The building has hosted a variety of ventures and today functions as a museum dedicated to the history of the town.
Built in 1905, the first occupant was a jewelry store, but it only lasted for two years. Afterwards, the building was expanded and became the main post office. This unique, five-sided structure served as the main post office for nearly 70 years.
When the post office moved into a different building in the 1970s, the old building was converted into a gift shop and beauty salon. In 2007, the owners donated the building to the Grand Marais Historical Society.
In August of that year, Wolf Creek Excavating moved the entire building onto its new foundation on Lake Avenue, and the Historical Society set to work renovating the building. Local craftsmen Jeff Stevens and Brian Carter installed a new roof and brightened the facade with a fresh coat of paint. Then in the spring of 2009, the interior was renovated and museum displays were installed.
The Old Post Office Museum opened to the public on July 25, 2009 and is now a walk-through museum of Grand Marais history, from its founding to present day. There is also a Rose Garden featuring hardy roses selected specifically for the climate in Grand Marais which bloom from early June until frost.
Already have an account? Log In